About the Harriet E. Richards Cooperative House


The mission of the Harriet E. Richards Cooperative House is to provide alternative, on-campus housing to undergraduate women, cisgender and transgender women alike, as well as nonbinary individuals, who are dependent on financial-aid at Boston University.

For generations of students, the H.E.R. House has been an important means enabling them to undertake their undergraduate studies. By drastically reducing the cost of room and board, the H.E.R. House gives its members the ability to afford their tuition, lifting a burden that all too often prevents bright students from receiving an education. Providing low-cost housing options for higher education is not an entirely new concept. However, what is unique about the H.E.R. House is a commitment to cooperative living and fostering a close community guided by selflessness, consideration, respect, understanding for others and pride in the House.

Founding History

The Harriet E. Richards Cooperative House, established in 1928, is one of the first cooperative dormitories in the nation. This was a residence that provided (and continues to provide) living arrangements at a nominal cost for BU students who could not otherwise afford the cost of a university education. The residents were expected to maintain the living quarters and cook for themselves. Now, 90 years later, the House continues to be a model for many similar residences around the country.

The first Dean of Women, Lucy Jenkins Franklin, founded the House after she visited France in the 1920s and saw similar houses run by and for college women who could not afford the cost of university living. Fascinated by the cooperative concept, she brought the idea back to the United States and started a cooperative at Boston University. Originally located at 328 Bay State Road (the present site of Boston University Law School), the H.E.R. Cooperative House represented the first women’s dormitory on the Boston University Campus.

Initially, Dean Franklin’s good friend, Harriet Eliza Richards, contributed the initial $100 to get the house operating. In turn, the residents decided to name the house for its benefactress. The then named Hollander mansion (328 Bay State Road) was purchased with the many donations from Ms. Richards and money raised by the House residents. The money was given to Boston University to purchase the building, and in accepting the money, Boston University agreed to serve as trustee of the Harriet E. Richards Cooperative House.

In 1940, the HER House relocated into a beautiful 19th century brownstone originally owned by a wealthy Boston merchant at 191 Bay State Road. Today, current House members find comfort in Harriet E. Richards’ spirit, which, along with the spirit of many members who have come before us, still graces the rooms.

Want to learn even more about the HER House experience over the years?

Watch the videos below:

© 2018 Harriet E. Richards Alumnae Association. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software